Keynote Speakers

ICPR2020 Invited Keynote Speakers

Max Welling

Max Welling
University of Amsterdam and Qualcomm, NL

Equivariant graph neural networks and their applications

Mihaela van der Schaar

Mihaela van der Schaar
University of Cambridge, UK

AutoML and interpretability: powering the machine learning revolution in healthcare

Pietro Perona

Pietro Perona
Caltech – California Institute of Technology and Amazon Web Services, USA

Measuring algorithmic bias in face analysis — towards an experimental approach

David Doermann

David Doermann
University of Buffalo, USA

Document Integrity in an AI World

ICPR2020 Award Keynote Speakers

2020 King-Sun Fu Prize

Ching Yee Suen

Ching Yee Suen
Concordia University CA

From Handwriting to Human Personality and Facial Beauty

The citation for the prize is:

β€œFor pioneering research and exceptional contributions to handwriting recognition and document understanding in theory, practice, and education.”

2020 J. K. Aggarwal Prize

Abhinav Gupta

Abhinav Gupta
Carnegie Mellon University and Facebook AI Research, USA

Towards Self-supervised Curious Robots

The citation for the prize is:

β€œFor pioneering contributions to unsupervised and self-supervised learning in computer vision and robotics.”

2020 Maria Petrou Prize

Maja Pantic

Maja Pantic
Imperial College and Facebook Research, UK

Emotional AI, Faces & Deep Fakes

The citation for the prize is:

β€œFor contributions to artificial intelligence (AI), particularly in computer vision and machine learning applied to automatic analysis of human faces, machine understanding of human behaviour, and multimodal recognition of human emotions.”


For the first time ICPR2020 implemented a two-round review process:

1554 submissions reviewed
  • Accepted: 554
  • To be revised and resubmitted: 579
  • Rejected: 421
  • Withdrawn: 15
  • Acceptance rate: 35,6%
1696 submissions reviewed (496 revised versions, 1200 new submissions)
  • Accepted revised versions: 305
  • Accepted new submissions: 552
  • Rejected: 839
  • Withdrawn: 2
  • Acceptance rate revised versions: 61,4%
  • Acceptance rate new submissions: 46%
  • Acceptance rate new submissions (one review round): 40,1% (1106 over 2754)
  • Acceptance rate revised versions (two review rounds): 61,4% (305 over 496)
  • Overall acceptance rate: 43,4% (1411 over 3250)
  • Overall Oral acceptance rate: 4,4% (144 over 3250)
  • Withdrawn after decision: 4
  • Registered main conference authors: 1407
  • Registered demo authors: 27
  • Participant countries: 56

Conference Organizing Team

The top Conference in Pattern Recognition and a Team with a strong scientific qualification

General Chairs

Rita Cucchiara
General Chair

Rita Cucchiara
Univ. of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy

Alberto Del Bimbo
General Chair

Alberto Del Bimbo
Univ. of Firenze, Italy

Stan Sclaroff
General Chair

Stan Sclaroff
Boston Univ., USA

Program Chairs

Kim Boyer
Program Chair Coordinator

Kim Boyer
Univ. of Albany, USA

KBrian C. Lovell
Program Chair

Brian C. Lovell
Univ. of Queensland, Australia

Marcello Pelillo
Program Chair

Marcello Pelillo
Univ. of Ca’ Foscari Venezia, Italy

Nicu Sebe
Program Chair

Nicu Sebe
Univ. of Trento, Italy

Rene Vidal
Program Chair

Rene Vidal
Johns Hopkins Univ., USA

Jingyi Yu
Program Chair

Jingyi Yu
Shanghai Tech Univ., China

Track Chairs

  1. Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning for Pattern Analysis
    Ehsan Elhamifar (Northeastern Univ. USA) Zhouchen Lin (Peking Univ., China), Fabio Roli (Univ. of Cagliari, Italy), Marina Meila (Univ. of Washington, USA)
  2. Biometrics, Human Analysis and Behavior Understanding
    Octavia Camps (Northeastern Univ., USA), Stan Z. Li (Westlake University, China), Massimo Tistarelli (Univ. of Sassari, Italy), Yunhong Wang, (Beihang Univ. China)
  3. Computer Vision Robotics and Intelligent Systems
    Lale Akarun (Bogazici University, Turkey), Luigi Di Stefano (Univ. of Bologna, Italy), Javier Ruiz-del-Solar (Univ. of Chile, Chile), Yoichi Sato (Univ. of Tokyo, Japan)
  4. Document and Media Analysis
    Simone Marinai (Univ. of Firenze, Italy), Kyong Mu Lee (Seoul National Univ., Korea), Elisa Ricci (Univ. of Trento, Italy), Cees Snoek, (Univ. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Changsheng Xu (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  5. Image and Signal Processing
    Sebastiano Battiato (Univ. of Catania, Italy), Andrea Cavallaro (Queen Mary Univ. of London, UK), Ana Fred (Technical Univ. of Lisbon, Portugal), Shiguang Shan (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Tutorial Chairs

Vittorio Murino
Univ. of Verona, Italy

Sudeep Sarkar
Univ. of South Florida, USA

Challenge Chairs

Marco Bertini
Univ. of Firenze, Italy

Hugo Jair Escalante
INAOE and CINVESTAV National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico

Women in ICPR Chairs

Alexandra Branzan Albu
Univ. of Victoria, Canada

Maria De Marsico
Univ. Roma La Sapienza, Italy

Special Issue initiative Chair

Michele Nappi
Univ. of Salerno, Italy

Web Chair

Andrea Ferracani
Univ. of Firenze, Italy

Publication Chair

Roberto Vezzani
Univ. of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy

Workshop Chairs

Giovanni Maria Farinella
Univ. of Catania, Italy

Tao Mei
JD.COM, China

Demo & Exhibit Chairs

Lorenzo Baraldi
Univ. Modena Reggio Emilia, Italy

Bruce A. Maxwell
Colby College, USA

Lorenzo Seidenari
Univ. of Firenze, Italy

Corporate Relations Chairs

Corporate Relations Chair for Europe
Fabio Galasso
Univ. of Roma La Sapienza, Italy

Corporate Relations Chair for North America
Matt Leotta
Kitware, Inc. NY USA

Corporate Relations Chair for Asia
Zhongchao Shi
Lenovo Corporation

Local Chairs

Matteo Matteucci
Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Paolo Napoletano
Univ. of Milano Bicocca, Italy

Financial Chairs

Cristiana Fiandra
The Office srl, Italy

Vittorio Murino
Univ. of Verona, Italy


ICPR2020 GOLD Sponsors

ICPR2020 SILVER Sponsors

With the patronage of